O Canada!!!

Canada Day Baby eh

Happy Canada Day!

This morning as I was getting Arthur dressed I couldn’t decide which top to put him in, as we had received 3 Canada themed onesies as gifts when he was born!  What do you do when you can’t decide what to wear??? Costume changes!  Not quite on the same level as a Shania Twain concert, however my boy did seem to really enjoy the frequent changes!  Maybe it had something to do with my theatrical rendition of “Canada Day Up Canada Way” by Stompin’ Tom!!!

I feel so fortunate to be Canadian!  Hubby Bumpkin and I were lucky enough to be granted this privilege by right of where we were born, we chose the same for our son.  On days like today I can’t help but think of all the people who aren’t as blessed.  Mothers raising their babies in war torn countries, fearing for their lives, and knowing that their children will grow up without the freedoms we know and often take for granted!  I never want to forget about that.  I don’t want to be someone who takes what I have for granted.

Hubby Bumpkin served 2 tours of duty in Afghanistan and saw first hand what kind of poverty and devastation takes place abroad.  News coverage doesn’t even touch the real story, he says.  I am so proud of him, and all of the Canadian Forces that give up so much to help others.  They make me proud to be Canadian.

As a child I was lucky enough to travel coast to coast a few times with my family.  Driving long distances was our family’s “thing” and it really taught me lots about our geography and landscape!  From mountains, to prairies to forests and coast line, Canada is the most varied and beautiful place I have been!  That makes me proud to be Canadian.

I do consider myself to be quite stereotypical, I like poutine, hockey, curling, snow, beer (man it’s been a long time since I’ve had one of those!), I say “Eh” a lot, and I try to always be polite, but it’s more than all that.  I just love that quiet confidence that made it’s way out into the open becoming a group of loud, proud Canucks most notably during the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics!  This makes me proud to be Canadian.

A few years ago you’d never see a headline like this on a magazine, now it’s everywhere you look! (This article mostly states statistical facts like more Canadians than American’s have passports… not exactly making us ‘Better’.  Not a really ballsy statement, but we tried).  That makes me proud to be Canadian.

Macleans

To all the Canadians at home and abroad, Happy Canada Day!

 

Signature

One thought on “O Canada!!!

Leave a Reply

