Leaping Lizards!

Baby Bumpkin turned 1 month today!  I can’t believe it!  My heart breaks and aches when I think that I will never get those same newborn cuddles, and he will never again fit into so many of his tiniest and most adorable newborn outfits!  Including the one he wore home from the hospital!  I was blessed with what I would call the most amazing newborn, sleeping stretches of 4 hours the first nights home from the hospital!  I’m so sad to be moving on from this stage of his life, and our lives together.

Friends try to reassure me that “just when you think it can’t get any better, it does”, I’m sure this is true to an extent, but I already miss the past!  It went by so quickly.  Too quickly!

With the passing time Arthur is developing very quickly.  He gained more than a pound in a week (between weeks 1 and 2) and I’m sure when he get’s weighed today at the midwife’s office he’ll have gained a significant amount more.  (* update after appointment today,  he now weighs 10 lbs 8 oz!!!)

Although for the most part things have gone swimmingly, we’ve hit a slight bump with some breast feeding issues (over active let down, and oversupply) and I believe we are entering our first ‘Leap” courtesy of The Wonder Weeks.  I don’t yet own this book, it is currently en route from Amazon, I do have the app, and a good friend read me an excerpt that is pretty spot on describing Arthur’s fussiness.  I am using this information mainly to see purpose in his crying.  I believe that infants cry to tell us things, normally that they are hungry, dirty, tired, in pain, or lonely, but when none of those are the case, it’s easy to feel helpless and discouraged.  I feel so much better knowing that I’m not failing him as a mum, I am not able to stop his fussiness, not because we are bad parents, but because he’s growing and changing.  It must be hard to be a baby!

Photo on 2013-06-17 at 17.00

This is how we spent most of our afternoon.  Skin to skin, cuddling!  It was honestly quite blissful for me, as he slept away (FINALLY!) I enjoyed his cuddles, watched many birds out the window and clickity clacked away on my laptop.  I have managed to get lots done online, including writing 2 blog posts, as well as figure out a way to change the domain name of this blog! Incase you haven’t noticed yet, welcome to

thecountrybumpkinsblog.com!!!! I’d like to take a second to thank the jerk who used thecountrybumpkins.com and didn’t bother to link it to any working site!  😛

All in all, the past 4 weeks and 3 days have shown me what a small fraction of time our babies are little.  It goes by faster than the blink of an eye, and I know I’ve had it so easy, and even Captain Fussy Pants over here, is still a great baby compared to many.  Here’s to hoping that my new book arrives quickly and that I find it useful in my parenting journey!  I’m sure you’ll be hearing more about it either way!

Signature

One thought on “Leaping Lizards!

Leave a Reply

