A Bumpkin’s Fluffy Bottom

Try saying THAT 5 times fast!

Since Arthur was about a week old we have been cloth diapering and are LOVING it! Here is a quick overview of why, what is working for us, and what the plan is for CDing in the future!

In the interest of full disclosure, we do still use disposables over night, until I can manage more than popping a boob in his mouth in the middle of the night, that’s the way it will stay!

diaper

I knew when I got pregnant that I wanted to use cloth.  I really learned about cloth diapering from the wonderful Youtube mommy community, and I am so grateful that I watched and researched so much ahead of time.  It hasn’t been the least bit overwhelming to myself or Hubby Bumpkin, and I look forward to so many benefits long term!

Of course everyone knows that cloth are better for the environment, they cut down drastically on the garbage in your household.  They are healthy, the chemicals used to make disposables would make Marie Curie cringe. And they are cost saving, up to several thousand dollars from birth to potty training, and double that for each additional kid!

We feel that those are all extremely important reasons to use cloth, but in addition, we took the plunge because we don’t have any garbage pick up, so every bag we throw away we must take to the dump ourselves.  It can be weeks between trips, and no amount of double bagging dirty diapers could mask that odour, especially in the summer time!  Also, there is a major ‘cute’ factor that comes with cloth diapers!

I was met with a lot of raised eyebrows and doubt in our ability to “stick with it after the first poopy diaper”. But so far so good!

Prefolds

Before Baby Bumpkin was born I purchased 2 newborn Grovia AIO diapers (review coming soon) and a dozen Indian Unbleached Prefolds in the infant size. I also was gifted several Bummis and Thirsties covers.I’ve filled in a few gaps between more cloth gifts and the purchase of another dozen 2nd hand prefolds, we have more than enough to get us through washing every 3rd-4th day!

I also sewed cloth wipes and use a small stash of baby wash cloths as diaper wipes.  I keep them in a recycled Pampers Wipes container with water, and they go right into the wash with the diapers.

As Baby Bumpkin grows the plan is to continue using prefolds and covers as these are working really well for us, and start using pocket diapers.  I have a small stash of about 6 different brands of pockets and AIOs to try out.  I know that not every brand of diaper fits every baby, so we are going to give these our best shot and then purchase more of what we know to work for Arthur.

I am looking forward to continuing on the journey to cloth diapering, as well as sharing in more detail how it’s going and what works and doesn’t work for us.

Are you, or did you use cloth diapers?  What was your favorite and least favorite part?

Do you have questions?  What aspects of our cloth diapering system would you like to know about?

Leave a Reply

