Bumpkin Lemon Asparagus

On Friday I shared a new recipe I tried out via Pinterest!  I love giving new recipes a shot, especially because I consider myself to be the ultimate amateur in the kitchen.  Learning new techniques and skills as well as building confidence to try out new flavours is like learning to ride a bike for the first time.  Scary, it takes some practice, but once you have it down, it’s smooth sailing!

I never learned much about cooking growing up, my mom tried, but I’d pull the traditional teenager pout, and never paid much attention.  I did and still do enjoy baking, however my tolerance for failure in the kitchen is very very low.  Hubby Bumpkin has many stories of complete toddler-like meltdowns over things like scorched shish-kabobs, and falling cake pops.  So easy peasy is a must for me!

That’s why when I create a recipe myself that gets rave reviews from friends and family I am so eager to share it with you!

IMG_1116

Lemon Asparagus is a simple and delicious way to add a lot of flavour to your plate!  This recipe is so easy and is a big hit in our house!

IMG_1094First I wash and break the ends off of the asparagus.  If you hold it by the bottom and snap, like a twig, it should break off in the right spot all on it’s own.

To make this recipe you’ll need

Asparagus

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 Lemon

Salt, to taste

IMG_1098I spread the asparagus evenly on the rack over a baking sheet.  Drizzle the oil to coat each stalk.  I then squeeze the juice from half the lemon over top.  Add salt to taste and top with lemon slices for baking.

IMG_1110

I place in the oven at 425 degrees for around 10 minutes, but keep a close eye on it, as I have this funny thing about ‘forgetting’ whatever’s in the oven.

Remove when the asparagus is tender, and serve!  Yum!  I really can’t think of a more simple crowd pleaser than this!

2 thoughts on “Bumpkin Lemon Asparagus

Leave a Reply

