Another Pin-spired Creation

Like I mentioned yesterday Hubby Bumpkin and I don’t celebrate Valentines Day.  No gifts, no chocolate, no flowers.  We’re just not into it.  No pressure, and no worries is much more our style.

That said, I figured what better than a Thursday evening, with a societal focus on love and romance, to try out a new Pinterest Recipe for dinner.

IMG_1128

When I saw this recipe for Baked Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken, I knew immediately I wanted to give it a try.  Simple is my middle name, and this recipe is the definition of simple!  3 main ingredients, and some pretty brainless slapping together of a ‘little of this and a little of that’ resulted in our finished product!  I started out by greasing a baking dish.

IMG_1118

 

You will need:

4 or 5 Chicken Breasts

4 Cloves of Garlic, Pressed

4 Tbsp Brown Sugar

Oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

I put the garlic in a small pan with some oil and stirred until tender.  I then added roughly 4 Tbsp of brown sugar (probably a little more, just because I’m so sweet) and mixed it all together well.  The recipe said to ‘pour’ over the chicken which I had seasoned with a little salt and pepper, so for some reason I was expecting the garlic, sugar mixture to be more liquidy.  It was slightly difficult to spread evenly.

IMG_1121The original recipe calls for this to be put in a 500 degree oven for 15-30 minutes uncovered.  Because of the side dish I was preparing, I had my oven set to 425 degrees and cooked the chicken for 30 minutes.  That was enough for it to be perfectly cooked.

It turned out nicely.  In the future I would refrain from adding quite as much sugar, 4 Tbsp is more than enough.

Hubby Bumpkin didn’t give this the same enthusiastic reviews he’s given other new dishes, but he did say he wouldn’t mind having this again sometime in the future.  I on the other hand rather enjoyed this mixture of sweet and savory flavours.  So simple, and very yummy.  I give this recipe 2 Bumpkin Thumbs Up!

 

Leave a Reply

