Pinterest Recipe Review

Like most of you, I have been pulled in by the magnetic force of Pinterest.  On more than one occasion I’ve had to explain to Hubby Bumpkin, that it’s not about simply ‘stepping away from the computer’… you wouldn’t expect a crack addict to simply step away from the pipe… you would help them get into rehab.  Well fortunately for me, there aren’t any ‘dry out’ facilities for Pinterest addiction near by!

superbowl_2013_logo

Super Bowl Sunday is a sacred day for some… football, parties, commercials, half time show, doggie bowl?!?!…Everyone has their favorite part.  For a family who doesn’t follow football or have cable, it was just another night in the Bumpkin house.  With one slight exception.  We chose to dine, like most N. Americans did this evening, on ‘Football Food’!  And let me tell you, Pinterest was the place to go if you were looking for an appetizer like no other!  On the menu for the evening:  Buffalo style wings, nachos, and cheesy cauliflower sticks w. marinara dipping sauce!

Over the past few weeks I have been introduced to the idea of replacing garlic bread sticks and pizza crust with a cauliflower concoction.  I’ve heard only great reviews, but being the great skeptic that I am, just had to try it for myself!

IMG_0982

I started as instructed by grating the cauliflower with a cheese grater.  This made for a very messy counter, but it got the job done pretty quickly.  In the future however I think this is a job for the food processor! Pop this in the microwave for about 5 minutes, as is to soften it up, and then do as follows.

IMG_0988

I added some sautéed garlic, italian spices, an egg white and cheese.

IMG_0990I pressed the mixture onto a baking sheet covered in parchment paper and put it in the oven. at 350 for 30 minutes.

IMG_0993When nice and golden brown I took it out, flipped it over, (onto another piece of parchment) and stuck it back for another 10 minutes or so.  Then I added more cheese, and some more italian spices and let it bake until the cheese started bubbling!

IMG_0998I would recommend if you are going to try this recipe to limit the amount of cheese you add to the top!  I may have gotten slightly carried away and the result wasn’t very crispy!

If you want the actual recipe, here is the link to my Pinterest.  Feel free to follow my boards while you’re there!

Hubby Bumpkin is NOT a fan of cauliflower, so I was planning on ‘surprising’ him with a blind taste test (I should probably blog about the time I tried that with Tofu, he is after all smarter than the average bear!), but he caught me grating the cauliflower and started asking questions.  As expected he turned up his nose, but promised he’d wait until it was finished cooking before writing it off all together.

IMG_0997IMG_1011

I even went as far as to make my ‘own’ marinara dipping sauce!  Really I just used the Epicure mix (HIGHLY RECOMMEND!).  As you can see from this photo the cauliflower sticks didn’t even last long enough for me to take a photo!  Hubby Bumpkin accused me of ‘kitchen voodoo’ before taking a large helping and they got rave reviews from him!  “I would have never guessed this was cauliflower if I didn’t see it with my own eyes!”

I was thoroughly impressed and look forward to making this recipe again!  My one and only complaint was that the inside pieces weren’t very crispy, which I would have liked.  That said I will work to tweak the recipe to see if there is something else I can do to achieve my desired results!

Not quite the equivalent of gnawing on carrot sticks, but a much healthier alternative to many traditional appies!  This one gets 2 Bumpkin Thumbs Up!

Share your Superbowl Menu in the comments!

Leave a Reply

