Be Kind To One Another!

Today I am, for no particular reason, feeling all warm and fuzzy inside!  It probably has a lot to do with the sky high level of hormones flowing through my body lately, but there have been a few sweet memories and stories I’ve heard that just made me smile ear to ear!

tim_hortons

Like every ice-blue blooded Canadian I’m a regular at Tim Hortons… (when I can since we’ve moved).  I can’t say I particularly love their coffee, but it gets the job done when needed and it’s relatively inexpensive.  It is not an uncommon occurrence to spend a significant amount of time in Drive-Thru here, so I once took this opportunity to teach a valuable life lesson to one of the children I nannied.

“Lets pay for the order for the car behind us.” I told her, on our way to gymnastics. “It’s like giving a present to somebody we don’t know! Don’t you think that will be fun?”   She agreed, but I don’t think as a 4 yr old from an affluent family, she really understood the act of exchanging money for goods and services, or how not paying is such a treat!

After much explanation, and a lengthy conversation of how it feels good when someones does something nice for you (like sharing their My Little Pony toys) We got ready to do something really nice for a person we didn’t even know, and pulled up to the window to pay!

pay it forward

To my surprise the server told us that our bill had been covered by the man in the vehicle ahead of us!  Unfortunately the car behind us ordered over $30 worth of food and coffees, so I had to pass on paying it forward that time.  The conversation explaining what just happened was probably more confusing than the one explaining my seemingly brilliant plan, but what we both took away that day was the warm, fuzzy, happy feelings after a stranger gave us a ‘present’!  It really made my day bright!

good-news

Recently it came to the local media’s attention that the Tim Horton’s pay it forward attitude has really taken off.  Here is an excerpt from a local newspaper describing what happened in The City before Christmas.

At about 10 a.m. on Dec. 21, a Tim Hortons customer at the _____________location decided to pay for the order of the next vehicle in the drive-through line.

That began a chain of random acts of kindness that lasted for three hours — and 228 orders.

“It isn’t uncommon for Tim Hortons customers to pay for the next person in line, but this was a real gift,” said Michelle Robichaud, spokeswoman for the company”

Doesn’t that just make you feel all Hug-A-Neighbor happy?  I’m serious!  Why not do something, big or small today to brighten someone’s day!  You never know… it just might make you feel fantastic too!

Leave a Reply

