Kitchen Tidy & Deep Clean

Howdy once again folks!   Today I wanted to share with you the second part of September’s GABI challenge!  Incase you missed my summary about GABI in my last post about reorganizing my ‘nook’ here she goes again:

G.A.B.I. (Grin and Bear it) started at the end of July when Marie (BitsandClips) and Veronica (Vloggingmama) organized a group on Facebook of women who did Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred + some other challenges as well (for example make a smoothie with vegetables in it).  At the beginning of September we transitioned to a more laid back (because if you know anything about the Shred, Jillian Michaels is NOT laid back!) group taking on all kinds of domestical (yes I made that word up! It just sounded fancier to me!) duties and challenges!  

The second part of September’s challenge was:

2) Deep clean your kitchen!

Show a picture of your kitchen post meal time when it’s at it’s most utilized. If you’re the type that cleans as you go and your kitchen never really gets out of hand that’s fine, just show what the norm is for your house.
Show after pictures and discuss what steps you attack your kitchen with (how detailed do you get, where do you start, is there order to it?)
Share tools and cleaners that you used.
Discuss – do you think you have your routine perfected or are you on the hunt for a better attack plan. How often do you deep clean that space? Just when it’s needed or on a schedule?
Well let’s start with the damage to see what we’re working with, shall we?

She may not look too bad, but it took a lot of elbow grease to whip this girl back into shape!

about 2 days worth of mess. yikes!

Now when I posted these pictures to the GABI facebook group, so many people were distracted by the size of our kitchen and didn’t think it was very messy… but let me tell you… This whole project took well over 2 hours to complete!

First of all, I loaded any dirty dishes into the dishwasher, that immediately cleared up a lot of space on the counter and in the sinks.  I removed the recycling that was gathered on the counter and put it in a bag in our mudroom (where it should normally be found).

Next I threw away any trash (because most people leave trash sitting on top of their counters right!?) and put away any food I had left out. (dry pasta, no need to lecture me on food borne illnesses)

Like in my craft room I worked my way from one end of the kitchen to the other shuffling anything that didn’t have a home until it either found one, or was piled somewhere else (that mud room has come in very handy!)

I then wiped down the counter tops, cupboard doors, window sill, cleaned the sink to a sparkling shine and cleaned the finger prints from my stainless steel dishwasher, stove and fridge.   I also vacuumed then mopped the floors.

so gross, I know

Because this was a “Deep Clean” and it was much needed, I cleaned my oven as well.  I did spend about 30 min. scrubbing this with a natural cleaner that I will describe later, but then my husband reminded me that our oven has a self clean feature.  I had never used it before (this is the first oven I’ve had that gave me that option!) so I thought about giving it a whirl!  I am pretty happy with the results!

Ta-da!

Even though I didn’t use chemical cleaners, part of me wishes that Mr. Clean, would come stand beside my oven, cross his arms, nod and wink that little sparkly wink!

Satisfied with a job well done!

There’s nothing I love more than a nice clean Kitchen!

The Products

Would you believe me if I told you all I used as cleaner was water? *Gasp*  It’s true! *Double Gasp*.  For all of the cleaning in our house I use Norwex cloths.  If you are not familiar with Norwex, it is a company that started in..get this… Norway!  They have some pretty amazing products if you ask me, and no I’m not being paid to say this… In fact I have spent a lot of my own money buying this company’s products and I will say I am completely satisfied!

The North American headquarters is in the same province as me, so it feels good knowing that these cloths aren’t being shipped all across the globe to get to me either!

The way it works, and how I get away with only using water, is that there is silver woven into the fabric!  The silver is what kills the germs and the microfiber picks up any dust or debris!

I own so many of their products and I use them all very regularly.  The enviro cloths I use to wipe down the counters and surfaces, I use a window cloth (which if you were to ever see a demonstration of you would want it immediately) to clean the stainless steel to a print free shine!  I also use their dry and wet mop for the floors.

 I did use Norwex oven cleaner and found that it works just as well as any chemical oven cleaner I’ve used before, but it doesn’t have the same harsh smell.    On the stove top, I did use a little of the ‘cleaning paste’ which I have had for over a year, and have barely made a dent in it!

Many people resist Norwex products because they feel like the expense isn’t worth it, but from my experience it is worth the investment because I am not buying the cleaners that run out every 2-3 months.  These cloths are long lasting, they get thrown in the washer and dryer like anything else, and are good to go the next time I need them. No fuss, no muss!

Side note:  Some of the other Norwex products I have include: the shower mitt, the dusting glove, the face cloths, and make up removal cloths, the toothbrushes, dish soap, dryer balls, I’ve used the laundry soap in the past, and I will say I have LOVED all of these.  (the laundry soap I did find a little pricy, especially when I can find equally natural/safe brands for cheaper, but it did work great!)  The ONE AND ONLY Norwex product that I have ever purchased and was not happy with is….. The crystal deodorant.  It did not work for me at all!

Do I think my cleaning routine is perfected?  No.  Far from it in fact.  My goal is to have the house all clean at the same time one day, and then follow a Pinterest plan where I can maintain my home in a more efficient manner!  Right now I am cleaning on an as needed basis, and there is a lot of room to improve this plan!  I feel like efficient people are happy people, and I want to be like them!

Leave a Reply

