Rachel to the Rescue!

The other night I was searching through the fridge and freezer, not sure what to make for dinner.  Because I wasn’t all that hungry, I quickly gave up, and decided to check Facebook instead (because we all know that Facebook is the place to go when you want to get stuff done, right?!)..   That is when I saw a post by Jen Informationmommy (I linked her Youtube Channel incase you haven’t seen it yet!) that may have just changed the way I cook pasta from here on out!

She shared a link to a recipe on Rachel Ray’s website for Garlic-Chili Shrimp and Greek Spaghetti with Feta, when I read it for the first time I somehow missed the “Chili” and thought to myself “How lovely, I actually have all of the ingredients!”

Well turns out that this “Garlic & Chili” recipe is pretty darn tasty… even without the chilies!

You can go here  to find the recipe for yourself!

Marinating Shrimp

I was glad to have a little extra time before I knew I’d be really hungry to allow the shrimp to marinate in oil, garlic, salt and pepper.  (I didn’t have the chili or the seafood blend that the recipe called for -I’ll be honest, I didn’t miss them!)

Just incase you’ve never seen pasta cooking before… 🙂

 

I prepared the pasta, and then started making the sauce!  I have been on a pretty big feta kick lately… it is such salty goodness!

The recipe calls for the remaining olive oil, garlic, (chili if you have it!), cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese to be used in the sauce.  I didn’t have cherry tomatoes, so I just used some from my garden that I chopped into big chunks!  I let everything simmer for about 10 minutes before adding the cheese.

You have no idea just how good this smells!

 

Once the cheese melted I turned the heat to low, and focused on getting the shrimp cooked up!

Somewhere around this point I stopped following the recipe… They are so restrictive and demanding, don’t you think?

Once the shrimp were heated through I added some wine that I had kicking around, and a little lemon juice!  There was some jibber jabber about starchy water.. but once I mixed the sauce in with the pasta I didn’t think it was needed, so I skipped that part!

Once I had the sauce covered pasta in my bowl I added the shrimp and called it a meal!

And there you have it!

 

I loved this so much that I made it again for my Husband with chicken instead of shrimp!

I do recommend you follow the actual recipe I linked above rather than my vague instructions… just because I rebelled against the recipe doesn’t mean you should too!  I’m sure this would have been even better if I, A: actually had all of the ingredients!  and B: actually followed the recipe Rachel Ray worked so hard on creating! (she’s not well known for making crummy food, that’s for sure!)

I hope you enjoy this one!  I know I’ll be making it again soon!

-The Country Bumpkin

One thought on “Rachel to the Rescue!

  1. THis is seriously such a fantastic recipe !!! I am so glad you gave it a try and loved it as much as we did… it’s on our list for delicious meals now 🙂 And yes, I am sure you can do soooo many substitutions that also taste just as yummy !

Leave a Reply

